Being convicted of a DUI offense in Tennessee is serious. It carries with it a mandatory jail sentence (as brief as 48 hours and up to one year), fines, possible restitution, revocation of your license—the list goes on and on. With this in mind, it is important to know what the legal alcohol limit in TN is. Not only will this information saved you lots of suffering (legally), but it can also save your life as well as the life of other motorists and pedestrians. The legal alcohol limit in TN is .08 (for most circumstances). Those driving a commercial vehicle in TN must maintain a BAC of less than .04. If you are pulled over for a traffic stop and are found to be at or above this limit, you will be arrested and your car will be towed. That is just the beginning. If you find yourself in this predicament, it is important to contact a Tennessee DUI attorney at your earliest convenience. Working with a proven DUI lawyer can help to limit some of the repercussions of a DUI conviction, and in some cases, reduce it. Give us a call today to schedule your free initial consultation today. Learn more about the legal alcohol limit in TN below.
What if I Refuse the BAC Test?
You have every right to refuse a chemical BAC test in Tennessee. However, refusal of the test brings its own set of consequences. You will likely be assessed with an Implied Consent violation. If the state proves that your rights were not violated when you were stopped and you refused to provide a breath test, this charge carries with it an automatic one-year suspension of your license. Furthermore, the State of Tennessee allows for your blood to forcibly be drawn (with a warrant) if you refuse the chemical BAC test and you have a prior DUI conviction.
The Legal Alcohol Limit for Underage Drivers
TN has a “zero tolerance” DUI policy for drivers under the age of 21. If found to have a BAC of over .02 while driving, it is considered a DUI under Tennessee state law. If between the ages of 16 and 21, you may be found guilty of “impaired driving.” The consequences of such a conviction include a one-year license suspension, fines, as well as potential court-ordered community service. Furthermore, under the “Drug Free Youth Act”, anyone between the ages of 13 and 17 will also have an automatic one-year license suspension or suspension until the age of 17 (whichever is longer).
What Are Penalties For a DUI Offense in TN?
Being pulled over while over the legal alcohol limit in TN carries with it some stiff penalties. However, there are clear differences in the consequences depending on how many times you have been convicted of a DUI offense. Learn more about potential penalties below:
- First DUI Offense: First time DUI offenders face at least 48 hours of jail time (if your BAC was over .20, then it will be seven days). You could be facing a maximum of 11 months and 29 days in jail. Furthermore, you can expect a $350 – $1,500 fine, one-year license suspension, mandated ignition interlock installation, court-ordered alcohol and drug treatment program, and potential community service.
- Second DUI Offense: A second DUI offense has a minimum 45-day jail sentence, $600- $3,500 fines, two-year license suspension, and confiscation of your vehicle.
- Third DUI Offense: The third DUI offense has a minimum of 120 days in jail, up to $10,000 in fines, up to 10-year license suspension (without the ability to obtain a restricted license).
- Fourth DUI Offense or More: At this number, you are guaranteed at least 365 days in jail as well as fines up to $15,000. Your license will also be suspended for eight years without the possibility of getting a restricted license.
Should I Get a DUI Attorney in TN?
DUI convictions not only hurt you in the present, but they can stay with you for the rest of your life. They can negatively affect your finances, career, relationships, freedom, etc. Working with a proven DUI attorney in TN can help to improve your chances of getting your charges dropped, reduced or at least lessen some of the penalties. If you have been pulled over for driving with a BAC above the legal alcohol limit in TN, you do not have to fight it alone. Give our attorneys a call to schedule your free initial consultation today.